The Toronto Raptors are the 2019 NBA Champions

The Toronto Raptors defeat the Golden State Warriors in game six 114-110 to secure the franchise’s first NBA championship in their 24-year history. This is the first championship for a Canadian professional sports team since 1993 when the Montreal Canadiens won the Stanley Cup and the Toronto Blue Jays won the World Series.

Toronto got off to a hot start led by Kyle Lowry scoring his team’s first 11 points of the game with the team taking an 11-2 lead early. The Warriors would battle back with Klay Thompson leading the charge with 10 points in the quarter ending the first quarter only down one.

Lowry and Thompson continued to play well for their respective teams in the second quarter with Lowry ending the half with 21 points and Thompson with 18. Toronto held a 60-57 lead going into halftime.

The third quarter is where the tide would change for the Warriors when Klay Thompson would be forced to leave the game with two minutes to go in the quarter with a knee injury. He was injured when he came down awkwardly on a fastbreak dunk attempt. As a result of being fouled, he had to briefly come back in the game to shoot the free throws because had he not he would not have been able to return in the game. He had 30 points in the game on 8/12 shooting and four 3-pointers at the time of his injury

The Golden State Warriors would keep the game close holding a lead for most of the fourth quarter, but late game missed shot by Stephen Curry and a technical foul on the Warriors for calling a timeout that they did not have would seal the win for the Toronto Raptors.

The Golden State Warriors fought their hearts out with Andre Iguodala having a breakout offensive performance with 22 points and three 3-pointers. Stephen Curry had 21 points and seven assists and Draymond Green had a monstrous triple double with 11 points, 19 rebounds and 13 assists.

For the Toronto Raptors, Kyle Lowry and Pascal Siakam both had 26 point double-doubles leading their team in scoring in the game. Kawhi Leonard had 22 points and six rebounds while Fred VanVleet had 22 points off the bench on their way to victory.

Kawhi Leonard was named NBA Finals MVP his second of his career. He is only the third player in NBA history to win an NBA Finals MVP with two different teams (Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and Lebron James).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s